Whole30 Roasted Red Pepper Tomato Soup

I started Whole 30 eating on January 6th. Maybe to lose a little weight but mostly because I was starting to experience daily bouts of food-baby belly, migraine headaches, acid reflux and indigestion, and generally feeling like poop. I knew that holiday eating was mostly to blame. I thought that the migraines were unrelated, honestly, and due to a medication that I’m taking.

Anyway, I embarked on this Whole 30 path with a friend of mine who is half my age and figured I had nothing to lose because without all of the holiday foods, I generally eat fairly well. I don’t drink, don’t eat junk food at all. It’s going to be easy right?

Oh no, my friends. I discovered that artificial sweeteners made up about 30% of my daily intake. Sugar free mints accounting for about half of that. It’s funny what you end up addicted to. Damn you Splenda! That was easily the biggest pain point for me. Eating food that just tastes like food without that extra sweet boost? Boooorrrrriiinnnngggg.

I’m on day 11 now, and I looked back my calendar and wondering if the following can be attributed to the Whole30 thing:

  • No migraines. What?!
  • Less head/sinus congestion.
  • And well, other things that are gross or TMI.

It’s been going fairly well with all of the cooking (so much cooking!). I scored big time on a recipe I made up last night that I want to share with you and have on hand for the future.

First, I must confess: I made the soup last night and it was disgusting. I kept it though because I knew that I was missing some ingredients and that I could fix it today. And fix it I did!

soup

Fire Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup

INGREDIENTS
1 tablespoon butter or olive oil
1 small onion, chopped (1/2 cup)
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
2 cans (14.5 oz each) Muir Glen® organic fire roasted diced tomatoes, undrained
2 jars (12 oz each) organic roasted red bell peppers
1 can (14 oz) chicken broth
2teaspoons basil leaf flakes
1 teaspoon parsley leaf flakes
1 teaspoon salt
6 organic dates, chopped finely
1/2 can (13 oz) coconut cream

PREP TIME: 20 MINUTES  |  TOTAL TIME: 50 MINUTES
Fire roasted tomatoes and peppers with a touch of cream add a richness to this tomato soup while the dates add a hint of sweetness.

PREPARATION & DIRECTIONS
In 3-quart saucepan, melt butter over medium heat. Add onion and garlic; cook 2 to 3 minutes, stirring constantly, until onion is crisp-tender. Add dates and a splash of the chicken broth and return to a simmer.

Stir in tomatoes, peppers, broth, basil, parsley, salt. Heat to boiling. Reduce heat; cover and simmer 15 minutes. Remove from heat; pour into a large bowl to cool slightly, about 15 minutes.

In blender, place half of the mixture. Add 1/4 can of coconut cream. Cover; blend until pureed. Return to saucepan. Repeat with remaining mixture. Heat over medium heat until hot. Remove from heat.

Honestly, the dates in this mixture are what makes this recipe delish! I like my soups savory and this one hits the mark! Serve it with home made meatballs (as I show in the picture) or add shredded chicken for more protein.

 

 

Leave a Reply

