Getting into “The Zone”

So work is a little light today. Email for me is like the tide. It flows in, it flows out; at a fairly regular pace. Today, I’ve received a total of five work emails ALL DAY. I usually have 100-200 emails to sort through. I liken this to the way the waves get sucked out to sea before a tsunami. It’s the calm before the tidal wave hits tomorrow. You see, me and my coworkers think there is some BIG COMPANY announcement tomorrow and it’s been so very ominously quiet today as a result. SOoooo quiet. And not in a good way.

So I’m getting my mind off of what might happen tomorrow by writing this blog! What? Two blogs in one day? That is crazy-time! I know, I know, but I can’t seem to help myself.

As I mentioned in my last blog, Aging Well (blah blah blah), I’m really kicking my Paleo eating habits into high gear by putting them into the structure of the Zone Diet by Barry Sears. Because while it’s okay to eat Grain Free Chocolate Chip Cookies on a Paleo diet that doesn’t mean I actually need them. Damn, because they look REALLY good.

Thanks Detoxinista for the lovely visual!

Anyway, I’m using the Lose It app on my iPhone to track what I’m eating. It tells me calories and nutrition content all by scanning the bar codes on the foods. And seriously, almost EVERY food has a freakin’ bar code. I can also look at the progress I’m making through out the day.

Mr. Sears says we should keep our Protein, Fat, and Carbohydrate levels at 30/30/40 respectively. With the Lose It app, you can look at the section called “My Day” and see how those levels are going at each meal. Then add or subtract items or quantities as needed to keep the balance the same.

Here’s what is surprising me: I am not getting enough FAT people! Say what? I know, it’s crazy. I’ve actually resorted to ADDING tiny portions of olive oil to my Greek yogurt and shit. I have to admit though, already I FEEL better. My stomach actually feels happy, Dare I say, satisfied? Maybe that’s what my daily addiction to ice cream has actually been about? I needed some fat in my diet.  At least now I am getting the good kind, not the dairy kind or the vegetable oil kind. Although pass me an avocado any day of the week. Srsly.

So, I was just reading some dumb web site that actually said that you can have any and all processed sugars on the zone diet? Are you kidding me? Did they even read the book? I think sometimes information gets so diluted that the truth becomes kind of fuzzy. I don’t know, maybe you can have sugar on the Zone, but you couldn’t have much of it and stick to the other “rules” Barry puts in place. Carbs should be something like  40% of your plate, tell me how sugar is going to do that for you but only remain 40% of your nutrition. Suck it misinformationists.

Man, I smell a little bit like olive oil right now from the yogurt with oil thing I ate earlier. And I’m not sure that’s a bad thing.

 

Leave a Reply

