Age is just a number, mine is unlisted

It’s time for me to come clean.

I’m a <cough, cough=””> 40+ year old girl in a long-term relationship with a dude 14 years younger. There, I said it.

I like to believe that he and I both look like we’re 30-35. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it. The pressure is on though for hanging on my youthful looks. And let me tell you, it’s a lot harder to look good now than it was 20 years ago.

In the process of trying to stay on top of my game, I’ve checked out the blogs of lot of talented women. These blogs contain hair tutorials, make-up, and fashion tips. Unforch, all of these blogs are by women in their twenties. I can’t seem to find anything really helpful for women over 35. Because as you may know, it’s a different game when you are older.

Something starts happening in your late thirties: your hair gets frizzier, the grey starts coming in, your skin wrinkles and becomes a little bit dull, and you see circles under your eyes. Suckay. But there is so much you can do to maintain hotness as you age and really look ten years younger.

Let’s start with the most important stuff (shown below) I’ve found to keep looking young, besides eating right, exercising, and getting enough sleep.

10 Years Younger

First off, OMG stop tanning. The sun is evil! Sunscreen, sunscreen, suncreen. Sun exposure is the number one cause of wrinkles and skin discoloration. Prevention is worth thousands in future laser skin treatments, botox, and collagen injections. In fact, if you already have skin damage from the sun, the treatments above may be your best option. But let’s assume you don’t have the skin of an alligator just yet.

Next, start using a serious hexapeptide cream like the Avotone cream shown below. This is a brand I’ve been using for years, but there are many others on the market that are just as good. You have to look for the acetyl hexpeptide-3 ingredient and rock this stuff every night before bed.

In the mornings, slather your face with a good retinol treatment like the ROC cream shown with sunscreen. Layer this under your make-up in the morning to prevent wrinkles all day long.

The make-up items shown by Revlon are good luminators to brighten skin tone both under the eyes and all over the face. There are many more expensive blushes and luminators at Sephora (which I love) but the drugstore cosmetics can work well too as long as you find one that works with your skin tone. As a blonde, I favor peaches and pinks.

Finally, use smoothing creams for the dreaded frizzy hair. Besides the wrinkles on your face, the condition of your hair is the other top way age shows up. Years of highlighting, blow drying, and hot irons take their toll on the strands, particularly on the sides and back of your head. Deep conditioning can only do so much because in the end you rinse it all away. I use a large dose of smoothing cream every day paired with a couple of squirts of silicone serum. You’ll have to tailor the amounts for the thickness and texture of your hair. While a little goes a long way, I actually have to use quite a lot on my hair.

I’ll be writing about specific products over the next few weeks and posting pictures as well. Stay tuned.

One thought on “Age is just a number, mine is unlisted

Leave a Reply

